The Kitchen Cinq ‎/ When the Rainbow Disappears: An Anthology 1965-68 - 2LP Vinyl

The Kitchen Cinq ‎/ When the Rainbow Disappears: An Anthology 1965-68 - 2LP Vinyl

Outside Music Distribution / Light in the Attic Records
Prix normal
Prix réduit
Frais d'expédition calculés lors du passage à la caisse.
La quantité doit être supérieure ou égale à 1

  • Compilation and notes by Alec Palao 
  • Includes The Kitchen Cinq’s complete LHI sessions, comprising the Everything But album and non-LP singles as well as rare sides by the act’s earlier incarnations as The Illusions and The Y’Alls 
  • Fully remastered audio with three previously unissued cuts 
  • Extensive liner notes featuring interviews with Cinq members Jim Parker, Mark Creamer, and Johnny Stark, along with manager Tom Thacker and producer Suzi Jane Hokom

Track Listing: 

A1 The Kitchen Cinq – You'll Be Sorry Someday 
A2 The Kitchen Cinq – Solitary Man 
A3 The Kitchen Cinq – Determination 
A4 The Kitchen Cinq – Please Come Back To Me 
A5 The Kitchen Cinq – Codine 
A6 The Kitchen Cinq – Good Lovin' (So Hard To Find) 
A7 The Kitchen Cinq – For Never We Meet 
B1 The Kitchen Cinq – Young Boy 
B2 The Kitchen Cinq – Last Chance To Turn Around 
B3 The Kitchen Cinq – Still In Love With You Baby 
B4 The Kitchen Cinq – If You Think... 
B5 The Kitchen Cinq – I Can't Let Go 
B6 The Kitchen Cinq – Need All The Help I Can Get 
B7 The Kitchen Cinq – (Ellen's Fancies) Ride The Wind 
C1 The Illusions – Young Boy 
C2 The Illusions – Searchin' 
C3 The Illusions – Figareux Figareux 
C4 The Illusions – Try 
C5 The Illusions – Gloria 
C6 The Y'Alls – Run For Your Life 
C7 The Y'Alls – Please Come Back 
D1 The Kitchen Cinq – When The Rainbow Disappears 
D2 The Kitchen Cinq – The Street Song 
D3 The Kitchen Cinq – I Want You 
D4 The Kitchen Cinq – Wasn't It You 
D5 The Kitchen Cinq – I Am You 
D6 A Handful – Dying Daffodil Incident 
D7 A Handful – Does Anybody Know 

Lee Hazlewood’s LHI flagship group, The Kitchen Cinq, had everything but one elusive factor: success. 

Formed as The Illusions (and briefly The Y’alls) in Amarillo, Texas, the group blended garage punk with killer harmonies and a slight sense of the absurd. Picking up steam locally in the mid-‘60s, the members started to think about cracking it on a bigger scale, and, in 1966, moved to LA. “Almost immediately upon arrival, we auditioned for Lee,” says guitarist/vocalist Mark Creamer. “He said, ‘Deal.’" Another of Hazlewood’s coterie, Suzi Jane Hokom, was charged with producing the group, making her a de facto female pioneer in the industry. 

By 1968, The Kitchen Cinq issued a total of five impressive singles and one album, Everything But. They recorded a surprisingly vast amount of material, all of which is collected here. Their version of The Beau Brummels’ “Still In Love With You Baby” was a regional hit in many cities, but they were still chasing a big hit, and the LA dream was wearing thin. In the end, the industry burned them out: the endless gigging, the radio spots, the long journeys–including an ill-fated East Coast tour that required them to drive from LA to Florida in three days. “I think LA ate the Texas boys; I really feel that way,” says guitarist/vocalist Jim Parker. 

The group split in ’68, and the members spread off into bands including Them, rock outfit Armageddon and, eventually, careers in studios. One–temporary member J.D. Souther–has a recurring role on the popular soap opera Nashville. The Kitchen Cinq was just a springboard for each of them, but listening to these overlooked works of beat-pop brilliance, you can’t help but wonder why it didn’t work out for the Texans at the time. Their songs–all of them–live on in this anthology.