Various Artists / Rocksteady: The Roots of Reggae - 2LP Vinyl
Various Artists / Rocksteady: The Roots of Reggae - 2LP Vinyl

Various Artists / Rocksteady: The Roots of Reggae - 2LP Vinyl

Word and Sound
Prix normal
Prix réduit
Frais d'expédition calculés lors du passage à la caisse.
La quantité doit être supérieure ou égale à 1

  • Brand new 2017 recut on vinyl in full original cover art
  • Recorded in April 2008 at Tuff Gong Studio, Kingston, Jamaica for the documentary "Rocksteady: The Roots of Reggae"
  • Includes digital download

Track Listing:

Side A 
1. You Don't Love Me (No No No) - Dawn Penn 5:13
2. People Rocksteady - Leroy Sibbles 3:10
3. Sounds & Pressure - Hopeton Lewis 4:28
4. Silent River Runs Deep - Judy Mowatt 3:21

Side B
1. Stop That Train - U-Roy 3:49
2. Freedom Street - Ken Boothe 4:09
3. Tougher Than Tough - Derrick Morgan 3:02
4. Take It Easy - Hopeton Lewis 3:35

Side C
1. Love Me Today (feat. Gladstone Anderson) - Stranger Cole 5:22
2. Shanty Town (007) - Ken Boothe 4:36
3. Tide Is High - Marcia Griffiths 3:13
4. Equal Rights - Leroy Sibbles 3:11

Side D
1. Rivers of Babylon - Hopeton Lewis 5:20
2. Conquering Ruler - Derrick Morgan 3:38
3. Bog Walk - Lynn Taitt 5:34

The sixteenth release on the Moll-Selekta label shares its title with a wonderful film, a heartwarming homage to the golden age of rocksteady. It documents the recordings being made for this very album at the Tuff Gong studios, Kingston, Jamaica in April 2008, telling the story of the original vocalists and musicians involved. Excerpts from an all star reunion concert staged in Kingston and older archive material complete the picture. Never before in the history of Jamaica, which already occupies a unique place on the world map of song, its sound embraced by western popular music, has such an illustrious collection of singers and players been assembled.

The album showcases 15 rocksteady classics in sparkling, deeply inspired new versions, recorded in the studio which also played host to album sessions of a certain Bob Marley. Under the musical direction of Ernest Ranglin, a guitarist of considerable renown not only on the reggae circuit, but also on the jazz scene, mixed by legendary engineer Errol Brown - in Duke Reid's employ at the Treasure Isle studio in the sixties - and freshly arranged by Lynn Taitt.