Whimm / A Stare Ajar - LP Vinyl
Whimm / A Stare Ajar - LP Vinyl

Whimm / A Stare Ajar - LP Vinyl

Outside Music Distribution
Prix normal
Prix réduit
Frais d'expédition calculés lors du passage à la caisse.
La quantité doit être supérieure ou égale à 1

  • 140-gram Black Vinyl
  • Limited Edition (300 copies)
  • 12" Insert with lyrics and photos

Track Listing : 

A1 Ember in the Wheat
A2 A Stare Ajar
A3 Town Hall
A4 Undermine
A5 Second Sound
B1 Field of Vision
B2 Fifth Column
B3 Crescent
B4 Ushers

For the past three years, Toronto’s WHIMM have brought the searing intensity of their live performances to stages across North America, honed through touring and shows with likeminded artists like Ice Age, Merchandise and Frigs. Singer/guitarist Mounir Chami, bassist Andrew Matthews, and drummer Jonathan Pappo create ominous, emotionally charged avant-rock fusing spellbinding melodies with an urgency akin to 1980s anarcho-punk.

To capture this feverish sound on their debut LP, A Stare Ajar (due out October 27th, 2017 on Pleasence Records), WHIMM tapped producer Dean Tzenos, mastermind of abrasive industrial punks Odonis Odonis. The album’s 9 tracks were obsessively refined over several months both onstage and in their garage rehearsal space, yet the band purposefully limited recording sessions to two rapid-fire days with engineer Ian Gomes at Toronto’s Union Sound (Fucked Up, METZ, Greys).

While bottling the band’s frantic energy, A Stare Ajar adds new dimensions to WHIMM’s musical landscape, expanding their instrumental palette with violin, piano, and cello from members of Toronto groups HSY, Scott Hardware, and visual artist Olenka Syzmonski. The album draws on influences ranging from Southern Gothic country, as heard on cinematic opener “Ember in the Wheat”, to the uncompromising experimentation of late period Scott Walker.