Aārp / Propaganda - LP Vinyl
Aārp / Propaganda - LP Vinyl

Aārp / Propaganda - LP Vinyl

Word and Sound / InFiné
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Quantity must be 1 or more

  • 140-gram Black Vinyl

Track Listing:

A1 It leaks everywhere
A2 Do you condemn the violence?
A3 The Axis of Evil
A4 Less Than 1% of Patients Become Addicted
A5 There Is No Alternative
A6 Nada Es Gratis En Esta Vida
B1 You Can Do It
B2 The Herbicide That Gets to the Root of the Problem
B3 I Prefer a Liberal Dictator to Democratic Government Lacking Liberalism
B4 Green Growth
B5 Delivering a Smoke-Free Future
B6 The unfortunate are the powers of the earth

Classically trained experimentalist Aārp releases his compositionally expansive and pointedly political debut album via InFiné. 'Propaganda ' is an album that rewards repeat listens and inspires research, pushing listeners to look for the truth beyond the headlines.

The title ' Propaganda ' is inspired in part by the death of a young man in Nantes who drowned following a police altercation at "Fête de la Musique" in 2019. Despite the fact that he was only dancing and there was clear evidence of negligence, the media campaign that followed cleared all involved and disinformation spread, distorting the truth and allowing French authorities to evade any consequences. This blatant and very recent example of press propaganda lead Aārp to explore a multitude of moments in history, each one informing a single track from his new record.

Each song title is a direct quote taken from different examples of these moments, from George W. Bush to Margret Thatcher and French philosopher Gilles Deleuze to the infamous Oxycontin commercial by Purdue Pharma. With ' Propaganda ' Aārp is asking his listeners to consider fact, open their minds and to think before spreading questionable news in an era rife with disappointment, when manufactured clickbait holds more currency than expertise.

Musically dense and literate with glistening electronics, ' Propaganda ' tells a story as it weaves between epic ambient soundscapes to droning, beat-infused dance. A backbone of glitchy industrial sounds allows it to delve into some dark places while retaining its upbeat and accessible mood.