François Richard Quartet / Libération - CD
François Richard Quartet / Libération - CD

François Richard Quartet / Libération - CD

Effendi Records
Regular price
Sale price
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Quantity must be 1 or more

  • CD Jewel Case

Track Listing:

1. Punctuation (5:06)
2. Winter Blues (5:16)
3. Liberation (6:28)
4. A Storm (6:22)
5. From 7 to 8 (4:16)
6. Dark Waltz (4:51)
7. La Bossa at Casa Nova (5:14)
8. Walk 2017 (4:20)

This new release provides the listener with a new and exciting instrumentation, that includes flute, piano, double bass and drums. This is quite different from the regular ensembles one hears in the jazz world. In this third project with a quartet formation from these musicians, the listener will have the opportunity to hear a new repertoire of original music stuffed with funk, Latin, and swing rhythms, showing an approach to the jazz flute that is uniquely Francois Richard's.

Francois Richard was privileged to be tutored at the age of 10 by classical flute master Jean-Pierre Rampal and his student Gail Grimstead. He went on to win several awards early in his career, including the Premier Prix du Conseil canadienne de la musique. He has appeared several times in the Montreal International Jazz Festival, and has participated in the OFF Festival. Previous releases from the Francois Richard Quartet have been critically accepted and have received numerous awards.