Oxmo Puccino / The Night of Awakening - Vinyl LP

Oxmo Puccino / The Night of Awakening - Vinyl LP

Regular price
Sale price
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Quantity must be 1 or more

It was necessary to wait four long years before the completion of The night of awakening . Indeed, Oxmo Puccino today offers his eighth career album, now available in North America. As a result, the sharply lucid rapper will be visiting Quebec somewhere in 2020, the official dates will be announced shortly.

The night of awakening is an enlightened confession in which the artist opens up in a disturbing way. The album highlights a Oxmo Puccino with a sharp eye, lived experience on the surface of words and imbued with raw wisdom. Less metaphorical than his two previous albums, his words are deep and clear, against a backdrop of great objectivity. Even if the pieces are overall darker, they leave room for festive upsurges, such as the magnification of everyday life. Over the last three years, in the productivist frenzy of rap, Oxmo allowed himself the luxury of maturing his project: “After having released albums and concerts for 10 years, it was a matter of refining and taking the necessary time, detached from the changing winds and seductive sirens. » The night of awakening is a true rap album with multiple variations, bursting with musical explorations and its figures of speech. His storytelling talent shines through in each of his songs. While contemplation of the world is his playground.

Oxmo Puccino surrounded himself with Eddie Purple , one of his musical partners with whom he has been collaborating since 2010, an artist with multiple influences, the latter is transcended by pure groove. “ For several months, we looked for direction, worked on the repertoire, multiplied the experiments ” Even if the development of the new musical pieces was first articulated in the heart of a Parisian room, the essence really took shape when the acolytes moved to a lodge in the suburbs. “We needed to get away from Paris, from the demands and family issues to only think about music” explains Oxmo . As for the production, it was handled by the young prodigy: Phazz (Orelsan, Nisak, Koba LaD). “With Phazz, everything happened very naturally. He was on the Orelsan tour with Eddie Purple. He listened to the tracks and gave us perspective on the one hand and also a current vision of my music with a lot of respect and demands.” The trio then stormed Studio Besco for several sessions to shape the identity and sound environment of The night of awakening .

Prestigious collaborations imbued with camaraderie define the contours of this new album. This notably includes the presence of Orelsan on the room My Life . “ Orelsan has been a friend for 10 years. The time had come to fix this for the future", as well as that of Gaël Faye , on Because life , with Brazilian trap accents, then Oxmo guest Caballero & JeanJass on the suave and airy piece SocialClub .

This magnificently well-crafted work oscillates between a past that the artist looks at placidly and a promising and sparkling future. Oxmo knows its position and remembers the path traveled. This album is a manifesto for the right to sing and exist, to live and share one's nostalgia and to build a destiny of one's own.

Album tracks:

Vinyl 1

In front of
1. The right to sing
2. Can't
3. Social club (feat. Caballero & JeanJass)
4. The bear's skin

Side B
1. The navel
2. My life (feat. Orelsan)
3. Ali baba
4. At your age

Vinyl 2

Side C
1. Epistolary arrow
2. 10,000
3. Too much love

Side D
1. The awakening
2. Sensual horizon
3. Because life (feat. Gaël Faye)
4. I won't come back